Know It All

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

 

smartHave you ever been around a “Know-it-all”?  You know the ones, they know absolutely everything about everything. Then there’s the one that knows a little bit of everything about everything.

There have been times when someone has left me with a pile of information, and all but said “eat my dust” in the wake,  (not really but I was wondering if it were true?) only for me to check their info with Google.

Don’t you just love Google by the way, I certainly do.  Google makes me look smarter.  Honestly, there’s really no telling how many times I Google something during the course of the day.

 I’ve been known to spout off information, pretty sure in knowing I’m right about something…(just ask my hubby!)  But spouting off might not always be the right thing to do even if you think the other person needs hear what you think is the right thing to say!

I know this about myself…I am a plethora (I love to say that word) of useless information at times. Those things that I am supposed to know have a harder time sticking to my brain than those things that really don’t amount to a hill of beans.  I know things about asparagus, radishes, and Jelly Belly jelly beans that most people may not know about..(and if you do, don’t burst my plethora bubble.)

I can’t say all is lost, my friends usually get a kick out of the info stored up in my brain.

I do so envy those that are known as “book smart”…with no help from Google.

books glasses

 I’m a lover of old movies and old songs, and I can quote lines from old movies like nobodies business..(just an example of one of those sticky things on my brain!)

Can I just say, Wikipedia is another great “go-to” for information as well.

In 1959 Sam Cooke, along with Lou Adler and Herb Alpert wrote a song “Wonderful World”, (sometimes called “(What a) Wonderful World”)  This bouncy love song’s lyrics has the singer disavowing knowledge of academic subjects.  The song is often referred to by it’s first line, “Don’t know much about history.”  In 1978 Art Garfunkel recorded the song as a ballad, with Paul Simon and James Taylor.  This is the version I came to know and love.

“Wonderful World”

Don’t know much about history

Don’t know much biology

Don’t know much about a science book

Don’t know much about the French I took

I can relate to this song in disavowing knowledge of academic subjects.

But…

There’s one thing I do know and agree on about what Paul has to say…”Sometimes our humble hearts can help us more than our proud minds.  We never really know enough until we recognize that God alone knows it all!”  1 Corinthians 8:3 MSG

“O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.  You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.  You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.  Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.  You hem me in–behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.  Psalm 139:1-6 NIV

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

In my search for information, whether it’s Google, Wikipedia, or any other source, I really don’t have to know it all!  What a comforting thought.  I can rest with the assurance that my Papa God alone knows it all.  His word is true, it never returns null or void.  His word (of information) stands forever.  This I am sure of!

google

Leave a Reply

