Not A Day Goes By

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

grace 2

We go through circumstances in our life at times that make us look like we’ve gone through a “war zone” so to speak.  And we may not actually “look” like it but may feel like we “look” like that.  It may be an illness, job situation, financial struggles, you name it and our demeanor can make people think we are “down for the count”.

Down-for-the-count ~ almost defeated, like a boxer who has been knocked down and who will lose the fight if he can’t get back on his feet before the referee counts to 10.

Does this sound like you now?  Or have you experienced this at one time in your life?  This describes me… as of yesterday as a matter of fact!

I had gone to my doctor recently because of this sinus crud.  I have been to him twice, this junk wasn’t going anywhere!  He drew some blood.  He said that my white cell count and platelets were both low.   He made an appointment with a “hematologist” to check my blood and wanted me to go ASAP.  Was I alarmed?  You bet I was.

I’m sure my demeanor a few times for this past week has been that of a boxer who was “down for the count”. We may look like a defeated boxer at times, but when we are a child of the King it doesn’t mean that we are!

Praise God!

Paul helps us put our struggles and hard times in perspective.  “Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside where God’s making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace.”  2 Corinthians 4:16 MSG

We could just stop right here and soak in this beautiful part!

Not a day goes by without His unfolding grace!

What we are going through at the time may seem “grace-less” but it’s not!  Or we may feel God showers his grace to us on just the “good” days…not true!

fields
Luke 15:4-7
New International Version (NIV)
4 “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? 5 And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders 6 and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’ 7 I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.

Not a day goes by without His unfolding grace.

Paul has more from this passage that makes the icing on the cake!  “These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us.  There’s far more here than meets the eye.  The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow.  But the things we can’t see now will last forever.”  verses 17-18

Not a day goes by without His unfolding grace.

As I sat there in the chair after having my blood drawn, the minutes turned into an hour, then another.  Finally me and my husband went into the examining room where the doctor would meet me shortly.  I was so nervous, and my hands were so cold that the medical assistant did not even attempt to read the pulse on my finger.

I felt the prayers going up on my behalf.  People were praying for me.  What a wonderful “grace-full” thing to experience.  My Papa God was right there with me.  He knew I was nervous.  He knew that I could hardly pray for myself.  He knows that when we are in situations such as this, our human side is almost numb and we really don’t know how to put the words together.  He knows. He hears our silent groans.  He loves us, oh how He loves us so.

The doctor examined me and said that my white cell count was still a little low, but that my platelets had come back up.  He said he was not worried and that he wanted to see me in three months to check my blood again. He was a kind doctor and tried to make me feel comfortable.

No matter what the doctor would have said, would not have changed who God in His glory is!  God is good.  God is great.  God is sovereign.  God cares.  God is love.

Not a day goes by without His unfolding grace.

grace 1
;

Leave a Reply

