Built In Alarm System

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

alert

Just because your life is going fine and dandy, don’t think for one minute the enemy has stopped his pursuit.

When everything is going good we tend to drop our guard down, I know that I do.

One good minute leads to another, then an hour and then a whole day!  One good day leads to another, then yet another.

You have a smile on your face, and a pep in your step.

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say we’re not allowed to have good days, even great days!  We can, we can have a whole string of them.

photo

When we do have great and fabulous days, we need to give praise where all praise is due.

If you are a child of God, then you have a “built-in” alarm system called The Holy Spirit.  But sometimes we act as though the battery is low.

As Peter was , “writing to the exiles scattered to the four winds,” he said, “Not one is missing, not one forgotten.  God the Father has his eye on each of you, and determined  by the work of the Spirit to keep you obedient through the sacrifice of Jesus.”  1 Peter 1:1-2 MSG

Our Papa God knew we would need to hear this, this message is for us also.

It doesn’t take much for me to get excited over things.  I love to laugh and have a good time.  And when the sun is shining and the temperature is around 70 degrees, I’m as happy as a cat stretched out on a warm windowsill!

One sunny day leads to another.  You have a great meal,  you read a wonderful book, and even see a terrific movie. You could even break out and start singing:

“Oh what a beautiful morning.  Oh what a beautiful day.  I have a wonderful feeling, everything’s going my way.” (Please feel free to insert the melody and sing this from the musical “Oklahoma”. You gotta love this song!)

So everything is going your way, but Peter has a word of caution for us, “Be serious!  Be alert!  Your adversary the devil is prowling around like a roaring lion, looking for anyone he can devour.”  1 Peter 5:8 HCSB

In my quest for happiness, I tend to get easily distracted, and pretty sure I may have adult ADD.  I can get sidetracked at times, and O. C. D. about things.  These things also can lead to letting your guard down.

I always love reading how David called out to God.

David had some really good days.  He also has some bad ones.  But he knew who to turn to when the enemy was pressing in. 

With an alertness and honesty as only David can deliver, we see who he believed protected him.

“My help and glory are in God – granite – strength and safe – harbor – God.  So trust him absolutely, people; lay your lives on the line for him.  God is a safe place to be.”  Psalm 62:7-8 MSG

Check your battery on your alarm and stay alert!

alert 2

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

