Act Justly – Love Mercy – Walk Humbly

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

MM

Fourteen years ago this week, Kevin and I flew to Bulgaria to pick up our daughter.  This was the week we stepped foot into her orphanage and first laid eyes on the one who was laid on our hearts by God.

When we brought her home.  So many things were new to her.  Likewise for us.  We were learning about our precious daughter every day.

She knew very little English, but we were told not to worry.  We were taught a few words in Bulgarian.  What we did not know was that in the Bulgarian language, when you shook your head from side to side in a gesture that we know as “No” this meant “Yes”.  And when you shook your head up and down as we know for “Yes”, this meant “No”!  We still laugh about this today when we think back in communicating with Maria.  She took it all in stride, as our heads continued to rotate around!

We faced many challenges when we first brought her home, as we still do today.  Maria fell from a flight of steps when she was 3 1/2 and placed in the orphanage shortly afterwards.  We knew that this road would not be easy, but God let us know in his word, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.”  Hebrews 13:5-6 NIV  Kevin and I both continue to cling to this verse with our daughter.  Maria is Traumatic Brain Injured with Cerebral Palsy.

“How has your life changed since you adopted Maria, for you and your family?’

This was the question asked for our final interview from our case worker, a few months after coming home.  My answer:

“It is as if we have always had her with us.”  As tears rolled down my face, I added, “I can’t remember what it is like without her.”  Only our Papa God can make us feel this way.  A love like no other.

verse

The past fourteen years has flown by.  So many memories when she was little.  I love to think back and reflect when we first brought her home and all the new experiences for her.  I will never forget the first time we took Maria to Disney World.  She really had no clue who Mickey Mouse was, but that didn’t matter one bit.  She loved every minute, and so did we.  Watching the excitement unfold before her eyes, we were wondering what she was thinking, what was going through her little mind.

That girl loved to go when she was little and she still does today!

Before we adopted Maria, and really before the whole process began, God had a word for Kevin and I both.  We had doubts before we said yes, she was the one.  But God in his loving kindness spoke to me through his word.

“He has shown you, O man, (and woman) what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8 NIV

I circled this verse in my bible and wrote Maria 6/17/99.

God will call us to do many things in our lifetime, whether it’s adopting, or anything else He lays on our heart to do.  When he does, He will never leave or for sake us on the journey.

And what does He require of us?

Act justly.  Love Mercy.  Walk humbly with your God

Bahamas

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

