A Super Strength Like No Other

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

 

super man

Who or what do you believe in?  Let’s say for strength and power.  You have to believe in something or someone in these areas.  Do you believe and depend on someone else to provide strength?  At some point that person will let you down.  Do believe in yourself for strength?  If you do, eventually  your body will give out and cannot keep up a demand that you may expect of it.

I always wondered why my youngest son favored Batman over Superman.  At almost 24 years old, he still does today.  He has not retreated in his favoritism since he was a little boy.  Even all the Power Rangers he collected throughout his childhood could not sway him from liking Batman the most.  And yes…I was one of those crazy moms that stood in line for hours every time a new Power Ranger graced the toy stores.  A memory that I surely will never forget.  And dearest Alex, I hope you appreciated all your mom went through to get you every ranger, saber, and accessory that went along with them!

Curious as to the difference between Superman and Batman’s attributes, I went to Wikipedia for the answer.

*Superman’s abilities:

Superhuman strength, speed, hearing, longevity, stamina, and intelligence, invulnerability, flight, freezing breath, multiple extrasensory and vision powers, and finally healing factor.

*Batman’s abilities:

Genius-level intellect, peak physical and mental conditioning, master martial artist, acrobat, detective, escapologist, strategist, swordsman, tactician, and marksman, use of high-tech equipment, weapons, armors, and gadgets, master of stealth, master of disguise, highly proficient with technology, access to vast wealth and criminal records, trained computer hacker, and last but not least, photographic memory.

Ok, after comparing the two I have to agree, Batman blows Superman out of the water!  I hate to be the bearer of bad news to some who may actually believe these two super humans exist…they don’t.

AlexAlex at his 4th birthday party.

 Leaving our minds from fantasy, let’s step back into reality now.

Do we believe God, who he says he is and what he can do?

This one little part of a verse stood out before me one morning as I was digging through God’s word.  What I needed to see was planted right in the middle of a longer verse.  “Your life of faith is a response to God’s power.”  This is from Paul writing his first letter to the Corinthians.  The rest of the verse is this:

“Nothing I (Paul) said could have impressed you or anyone else.  But the message came through anyway.  God’s Spirit and God’s power did it, which made it clear your life of faith is a response to God’s power, not to some mental or emotional footwork by me or anyone else.”  1 Corinthians 2:4-5 MSG

Wow…I had to read and then reread this verse several times. It’s a new favorite of mine now.

Is my life a response to God’s power?  Is yours?

My answer, sadly and ashamedly not always.  I don’t always live a life of faith in response to God’s power.  I try to handle things in my own strength.  I look to others for strength, when I should be looking to the one who is all powerful.  When do I do this?  When I take my eyes off of my Papa God.

I am weak, but praise God He is strong!

“But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will most gladly boast all the more about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may reside in me.”  2 Corinthians 12:9 HCSB

“I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”  Philippians 4:13 NIV

We need to stop looking to others for strength.  We need to stop acting like we are super heroes with super strengths.  We need to fix our eyes on the one and only who is power and strength!

“With God’s power working in us, God can do much, more than anything we can ask or imagine.”  Ephesians 3:20 NCV

Amen…

batman

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

