All This Nothing Means More Than So Many Somethings

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

sick

I’m battling a sinus infection at the moment.  Taking my medication leads to restless no sleep nights! Ugh!!!  I love my beautiful southeast Tennessee home, but boy this weather with the cold days and warm days mixed in, has led me to my current ugly “No Good Terrible Bad Days.”

Here I go wanting desperately to sleep, but can’t!  Don’t you just hate that.  No breathing = no sleeping.  I get tired of wiping my dripping nose for the 100th time, get tired of trying to breathe through my mouth, and get tired of tossing and turning…not to mention having an aching head that I fear will turn into a migraine.

I’ve had enough of this and turn on my TV.   I start running through the channels.  Considering The Golden Girls as a late night staple, I continue channeling on…don’t think my poor stuffed up head can take Blanche and her shenanigans tonight!  I need something comforting, you know like “comfort food”, I needed “comfort TV!”  I stop at one of my favorite movies…”You’ve Got Mail” with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks.  Yep!  A comfort movie. This is my poor-old-sinus-infected-no-sleep-lucky-night!  And the movie just started.  Jackpot!

I want to take this time to apologize if I sound like all I do is watch TV!  I really don’t.  I know I mention TV shows or movies quite a bit, but only the ones I’ve probably seen for the “umpteenth” time.  The oldies but goodies worth mentioning.  They sure don’t make TV shows or movies like they used to.

Pretty sure “You’ve Got Mail” is considered a “chick-flick.”  That’s alright with me, just add it to the list of my “chick-flicks” that I  happen to love.  One of those “best endings movies.”  And if you’ve seen this movie, you would have to agree!  If you haven’t seen this movie, well I’m not going to give it away and spoil it for you!

Meg Ryan’s character in the movie, Kathleen Kelly emails back and forth with Tom Hank’s character, Joe Fox.  Fox as in mega bookstore, Fox Books that is quickly beginning to snuff out Kathleen Kelly’s little independent bookstore, The Shop Around The Corner.  Her mother ran the bookstore before her.  I love the sentiments of the little book store and the days gone by kind of beauty in it!  As Kathleen Kelly continues to email back and forth with Joe Fox, she has no idea he is Fox Books.  Joe Fox doesn’t know at first who he is talking to either, but he finds out fast.  There’s this one particular line in the movie that I love.

YGM

Kathleen Kelly: {in an email to Joe Fox}  The odd thing about this form of communication is that you’re more likely to talk about nothing than something.  But I just want to say that all this nothing has meant more to me than so many somethings.

I have a weird way of connecting things.  When I hear words spoken, whether laid out on the pages of a book, through dialogue on a TV show or movie, sometimes scripture comes to my mind and I connect it.  Stay with me here.

Kathleen Kelly’s statement in her email to Joe Fox reminds me that God wants us to be still and quiet before Him.  Not saying anything, just listening to Him.  This means a lot more to Him than our ramblings, the so many somethings.  He desires this in us.

“Be still and know that I am God.”  Psalm 46:10 NIV

Don’t get me wrong.  Our Papa God wants us to come to Him, laying our petitions out before him.  Praying for our family, praying for others.  But, He also wants us to just be still and quiet before Him.

He wants us to “rest” in Him.  He wants you to sit down, curl up at His feet, away from everything.  Just you and Him.

Worshipping Him with expressions of praise and adoration, silently and reverently before Him.  This is a form of prayer.  Silently wrapped up in His arms far from the worries of our hours and days before us, resting in Him!  We don’t have to utter a word.   A practice we could all use a little more of.

I believe David was an excellent example of knowing all the “nothings” he said was a reverent sweet dialogue between him and God!  He knew when to be still and quiet before Him, and he knew when to speak.

“I’m asking God for one thing, only one thing: To live with him in his house my whole life long.  I’ll contemplate his beauty; I’ll study at his feet.  That’s the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world, The perfect getaway, far from the buzz of traffic.”  Psalm 27:4-5 MSG

Try being still and quiet before your Papa God.  Knowing that  saying nothing at all is a sweet dialogue He longs for in all of us!

chair

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

