Our Ebenezers

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

nature-wallpapers-of-beautiful-rocks-and-amazing-mountains

When good things happen we want to remember it.  Even Laura Ingalls talks about a “remembrance book” on the TV show “Little House on the Prairie.”  Journaling helps us to remember things that have significantly changed our lives.

If I eat a wonderful meal, I think about it even a few days afterwards.  Like the fabulous, yummy, scrumptious “Monte Cristo” sandwich from my favorite restaurant Cheddars! (I highly recommend this sandwich and restaurant!)

Have you ever read a book that was so good, that you would s-l-o-w-l-y creep to the end because you couldn’t put it down…then when you do finish it, you can’t get it off of your mind!  A sweet little book that I’ve read recently, is “The Measure of Katie Calloway” by Serena Miller.  This book takes you back to a simpler way of life, 1867. It takes place in a “logging” community up north where a young woman hides out in a logging camp as the cook, to escape her abusive husband from the south. She is brought to a place where Gods grace surrounds her.  Such a heart-warming little book!   This was a “freebie” for my Kindle which made it all the more sweet!

Even after watching my favorite movie of all time, “Giant” with Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson, (I’ve stopped counting the times I’ve seen it) I can’t help but remember how great this movie is, remembering particular scenes that I love.

I know that these are all things that I love, but I also like to remember them.  It’s good to remember good things.

When there are significant and specific times in your life when you remember that God has helped you, brought you through something, fought a battle for you, blessed you, inspired you, guided you, protected you, dried your tears, and held you.  These things need to be remembered!

“Samuel took a single rock and set it upright between Mizpah and Shen.  He named it “Ebenezer” (Rock of Help), saying, “This marks the place where God helped us.”  1 Samuel 7:12 MSG

rk3

Samuel wanted to remember this significant time that God had helped.

God thundered a huge thunder-clap that led the Philistines panicking in a mass confusion, running helter skelter from Israel!  Israel poured out of Mizpah chasing the Philistines and killing them.  1 Samuel 7:10-12 MSG

I have wonderful memories from my childhood being in church.  My Dad was a deacon, my Mom a Sunday School teacher, and we were in church every time the doors were open.  There I learned what a church family meant.  My Mom and Dad had already taught me about God’s unconditional love at home, and our church body was a continuation and extension of His love.

When reading this passage in 1 Samuel 7, I was reminded of singing this one particular song at church, (when I was a little girl) that had the word “Ebenezer” in it.  I remember singing, “Here I raise my Ebenezer.”  Now, I’m sure at the time I did not know what an “Ebenezer” was or even how to raise it.  But I remember singing it with gusto just the same!

The song happens to be called “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing.”  I love this old hymn that was written in the 18th century by pastor and hymnist Robert Robinson.

What a sweet memory for me as a child, placing my own “Ebenezer” while singing this song!  God was helping me.  He was training me for a lifetime of worshipping and praising him!

Going back and remembering how God has helped us in the past, seeing where our “Ebenezers” are placed throughout our life, helps us to know that He will continue to be with us, and that He will never leave or forsake us!

Go back and remember the times you saw God faithful in the little things, remember the times you saw Him faithful in the big things!  Remember the times He helped you, brought you through something, fought a battle for you, blessed you, inspired you, guided you, protected you, dried your tears, and held you. 

Remember these things.  Remember your “Ebenezers.”

rk4

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

