Gideon From Mayberry

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

Mayberry

Barney Fife may not have always known Andy had his back, but if you love The Andy Griffith Show like I do…then you know the answer to that!

Andy usually worked behind the scenes when Barney found himself in sticky situations!

Andy kept himself out of sight in one particular scene when Barney faced “Two Bullies” on his own.  Andy was there though, if Barney needed him.  Barney knew this was something he must do.  They drive to the place for the face off.  Barney replies, “I want you to get out Andy and let me handle this alone.”  Andy tires to protest, but knows Barney is serious.  He says, “Alright, just remember this”  (as he taps on his badge.)  Andy steps out of the car, to let his sidekick “Nip It In The Bud!”

“You fellas, I warned you before, now I’m warning you for the last time.  You take your truck and get out of here.  This is the deputy sheriff talking…you get moving now.”   (We know this took a lot of guts for Barney to do this!) The bullies approach Barney, but he stands his ground.  He says, “Do you see this badge?  It says I’m sworn to uphold the law.  Now that’s what I mean to do and you fellas better respect it.  Understand?  It’s as simple as that.”  As they move toward him, he still does not budge!  “You both are a lot bigger than I am, but this badge represents a lot of people…they’re a lot bigger than either one of you.  Now are you going to get moving?”

The bullies look at each other with a smirk, turn around and leave.  Andy appears by Barneys’ side and says, “Nice work…nice work.”  Barney lets out a large exhale!

barney 2

Gideon was probably the most un-likely person to help lead and defeat a powerful army.

One day the angel of God appeared to Gideon and said, “God is with you, O mighty warrior!”  Gideon replied, “With me, my master?  God faced him directly: “Go in this strength that is yours.  Save Israel from Midian.  Gideon said to him, “Me, my master?  How and with what could I ever save Israel?  Look at me.  My clan’s the weakest in Manasseh and I’m the runt of the litter.”  Judges 6: 11-15 MSG

Gideon couldn’t believe what he was hearing!  He knew he was the most un-likely person for this job.  But God knew and thought otherwise!

God used Gideon to accomplish his purpose.  God was with him every step of the way!

Faced with more Midianites than Gideon had ever hoped for,  he rounds up an army of 32,000.  Remember Gideon was the Barney Fife back in his day!

Gideon’s plan for battle = 32,000.  God’s plan for battle = 300.

What!

With only 300 men.  God used Gideon to win the battle!

With God’s help, Gideon “Nipped it in the bud!”

God uses the most un-likely to accomplish his plans and purposes…he can use you too!

barney 1

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

