Your True Colors Come Shining Through

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

liz 2

We all go through tests, challenges and hard times in our life.  It’s a part of life that just ain’t that pretty. Pardon the hillbilly expression, but there is no other way to describe it.  If you my friend have been through a  test, challenge or hard time, then you know what I am talking about!  And if you happen to be one of those that has never experienced one of the above mentioned, you better strap that seat belt on, you may even want to check it a few times….you’re in for a ride.  It will probably get rough.  Even scary at times. I know, I’ve been on that ride, more than a time or two.

I used to think there were some people who never  experienced trials or hard times.  When I talked to them or saw them, they never appeared to have gone through any!  Where were their battle scars?  Were they able to hide them?  Were they silently suffering and I didn’t have a clue?  Maybe they were masking my perception of them.  Maybe they had the masking thing down to an art.  Or maybe, just maybe they were trusting in God who was getting them through what ever they were facing at that time.

I’ve not always reacted the same way to trials and challenges that I have experienced.  Much like a chameleon, I’ve been known to “adapt” to the situation of the trial or challenge I faced.  Did I react properly?  No. Not always. Those were times I tried to handle things myself, my way, in my own strength.

I think the chameleon is such a cute and fascinating little creature.  One of my son’s favorite books when he was little was “A Color of His Own” by Leo Lionni.  Although that little chameleon didn’t want to change his colors in this memorable children’s book, they do change colors in “real life” (a word we use quiet often in Kindergarten.)

leo

 When a chameleon changes its color they are reacting to social signaling, temperatures and other conditions, as well as camouflage. Now here is an important statement about them that caught my eye…The relative importance of these functions varies with the circumstances, as well as the species. Color change signals a chameleon’s physiological condition and intentions to other chameleons. (Information gathered from one of my favorite resources Wikipedia)

How we handle situations in our life reveals a lot about us.

If your faith is strong in your Papa God, you’re going to react to things differently than if you’re trying to handle it on your own.

James tells us this….”Consider it a sheer gift friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides.  You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows it’s true colors.”  James 1:2-4 MSG

Showing one’s true colors refers to an individual who has masked or hiding their nature, but finally acts or behaves in a way that is more in keeping with their natural character. (wiki-answers)

 The chameleon has several colors to show and adapt to.  How we react to situations in our life shows our true color.  There are only two colors for us. One color will show we are trying to handle things on our own, and the other shows we trust our Papa God to handle trials and challenges that come our way.

Our Papa God is always, I mean always ready to help us!

He knows we can’t make it in this world on our own!

“God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves.”  1 John 3:20 MSG

“My troubles turned out all for the best~they forced me to learn from your textbook.  Truth from your mouth means more to me than striking it rich in a gold mine.”  Psalm 119:71-72  MSG

So…what’s your true color?

lizard 1

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

