4G Worrywart

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

Image

Have you ever heard the expression, “Worrywart”?  I have, because I am one.  I’m really trying not to worry so much, but good grief…it creeps up on me from time to time, and Boom!  There it is again!

The free online dictionary definition of a “worrywart” is (see I’m not making this word up!) a person who tends to worry habitually and often needlessly.

If you fit this description, then you are a “Worrywart” too. And by the way, I dare you to say that word a few times and not let it kind of gross you out.  And yet, I’ve heard this expression all my life.

My Mom is a “Worrywart”,  her Mom was a “Worrywart”,  her Mom’s Mom was a “Worrywart.”  (I feel like I need to let Forrest Gump’s friend “Bubba” take over from here!)  So you see, I do come by it honestly, passed down from generation to generation.  The women on my side of the family do tend to worry.  I am a certified 4G Worrywart.

What does God’s word say about worry?

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34 NIV

If you know me by now, you know that I love “The Message version of the bible.  Let’s take a look at this version of the same verse.

“Give your entire attention to what God is doing now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.  God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”  Matthew 6:34 MSG

Worry is something that God does not want any of us to do.  I know this deep down in my heart to be true, so why do I struggle with it?  Because I am weak, but praise God, he is strong!

I love what James has to say about worry.

“Pray to the Father.  He loves to help.  You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it.  Ask boldly, believing, without a second thought.  People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves.  Don’t think you’re going to get  anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open.”  James 1:5-8 MSG

anime-fantasy-hd-storm-waves-the-element-on-pictures-d-221005

Whew!  I don’t know about you, but I think James is giving a great visual that makes us really think!

Picture a little boat out in the ocean that’s being tossed about by some big gigantic waves!  Flying up and down, crashing hard into those waves each time it hits one!  It begins to splinter, almost breaking apart from the angry abuse of those waves!  Now picture your prayers as that little boat!  Praying, but at the same time worrying while you are praying!!!  Get the picture?  I sure can, because “I’ve been there done that” as the old saying goes.

Solomon has some wise words of wisdom.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

I guess you could even be addicted to worry.  Have you ever met someone who their worry resembled an addiction?  Addicted to worry.  Yeah…been there done that too!

So here is Paul’s take on worry for us.

“Don’t fret or worry.  Instead of worrying, pray.  Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns.  Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down.  It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.” Philippians 4:6-7 MSG

Worry is something we choose to do, or choose not to do.  We have a choice.  It’s a daily handing over to God kind of thing.  He is the one who can help us with any kind of worry we have now or will ever have in the future.  When we are addicted to worry, God can turn us around!

I’ve placed a picture at the end that I simply could not resist to post!  And I absolutely love it!  This is what I would love for this sign to say:

“I was addicted to worry but God turned me around”

worry a

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

