Don’t Hide Your Bananas And Let Them Rot

comments 2
Uncategorized

Image

I have to confess and come clean about something.  Sometimes When I buy a bunch of bananas I hide them!  Yep…I sure do.

I am absolutely convinced that we have a monkey living around here, because every time that I buy bananas they’re gone in two seconds flat!  No kidding!  They’re gone so fast that “Mama-monkey” doesn’t even get one!  A couple of times I have forgotten about them.  Forgot about those bunch of stinking bananas as they begin to turn brown….yuck.

I don’t know about you, but I like bananas when they’ve just about lost any sight of green on them.

The last time I hid the bananas and discovered they were on their way to Brownsville, I got upset with myself…  What a waste.  I felt bad,  because no one got a banana.

As I reached for my now brown bananas, a thought popped into my head, (another one for the freezer!)  well,  yeah…I was thinking that too.  But I was thinking, this reminds me that God gives us gifts and talents to be used for His glory.  We can hide them and not use them, sharing with no one and  possibly even letting them rot….much like the bananas.

“God doesn’t want us to be shy with his gifts, but bold and loving and sensible.”  2 Timothy 2:7 MSG

God doesn’t want us to hide our gifts or our talents.  If we are shy with them, how can He get the glory?

If we have gifts and talents we are supposed to be bold with them, and loving….and yes even sensible with them!

“Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”  1 Peter 4:10 NIV

Our God-given gifts and  talents are meant to be used for Him, first to bring Him glory, but we’re also supposed to share them with others.

banana 2

So,  am I going to keep hiding bananas?  Well…  If I do and forget about them…I know all is not lost and they still can be used!  The brown ones still have life.  Did you know that?

All is not lost with our gifts and talents either.  If we don’t hide them and we’re willing to use and share them, life is still in them….just like  those bananas, which can be used for delicious banana bread.

Here’s a great use for brown bananas before they get too far gone.  I place them in the freezer, peeling and all.  I can’t recall who told me about this…(obviously another banana hider!) but if you will take 2-3 out at a time, they can be used for banana bread.

The Pioneer Woman has a great banana bread recipe. If you’ve never visited Ree Drummond’s website, then you’re in for a treat.  She’s down to earth and very funny.  Her cooking is not too shabby either!  She even has a TV show that is on Food Network on Saturday mornings.   She is truly a “food ~ entertainer” with wit and charm down on the range.

Below is the link to her website with her delicious banana bread recipe.  Enjoy!

  http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/08/just-a-recipe-banana-bread/

bread

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

2 Comments

  1. Good analogy! Ree Drummond has great recipes. Thanks for the heads up on the banana bread one — mine are always going brown. : )

Leave a Reply

