The Heart Regulates The Hand

comments 2
Uncategorized

20140130-120920.jpg

Is it just me or does this map of Atlanta look like the outlining of a human heart?

When I first saw this map showing the weather related congested/standstill area of Atlanta, I had to do a double take.

I’m not ashamed to say I live in the south, Southeast Tennessee that is, but the Atlanta area is getting a lot of ‘flack’ on how they handled situations with the bad weather that hit them on 1/28/2014. Granted, it probably wasn’t a good idea to dismiss everyone on the roadways at the same time causing traffic standstill and jams like never seen before. But we all learn from decisions we make, good or bad.

What I have seen from this, is an area community coming together helping one another. You can’t help from hearing about it if you turn on your tv. I’ve watched the Today show and have seen story after story of people reaching out, lending a hand, and even opening doors for shelter. Home Depot, Walgreen and CVS are just a few of these places that have been named. They graciously opened their doors allowing people to rest and sleep. Teachers at schools spent the night with stranded children, watching over them and caring for them. Being away from their own families while doing so. People left bottled water and fruit on the interstate for stranded motorists. I saw where one family pulled their red wagon on to the roads offering water and food.

Story after story recounting one heart reaching out to another.

One story in particular that has impressed me, is of the woman who started a Face Book page called “SNOWEDOUTATLANTA” with more than 57,000 members. She saw a need, went home and started this page as a way of connecting the people for help. People have their own opinion of Face Book, me included, but you can’t deny the positive that has come out about this story.

I can’t tell you the last time I turned on my tv to watch the news. After being home because of this weather, I have been brave and decided to watch. The news is usually depressing. But this has been positive and very up lifting!

This is a great lesson for all who have watched. I’m speaking to myself as well. We can all learn a thing or two in this beautiful picture of a community, and in this case a city coming together.

Paul has a great word for us in several passages about this ~

“If you’re called to give aid to people in distress, keep your eyes open and be quick to respond.” Romans 12:8 MSG

“The point is not to just get by. We want to live well, but our foremost efforts should be to help others live well.” 1 Corinthians 10:24 MSG

“You do what you can, not what you can’t. The heart regulates the hands…you’re shoulder to shoulder, all the way, your surplus matching their deficit, their surplus matching your deficit. In the end you come out even. Nothing left over to the one with the most. Nothing lacking to the one with the least.” 2 Corinthians 8:12-15 MSG

If you want to see and hear about some good news for a change, I urge you to check some of those stories out. A refreshing and beautiful picture where the heart is truly regulating the hand!

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

2 Comments

  1. I’ve loved reading through your posts. We must have great minds that think alike because I noticed you wrote about some things I’ve written about recently,too. Thanks for dropping by my site — I had to come for a visit : )

Leave a Reply

