I <3 Snow

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

20140129-001130.jpg

I admit it. I love snow! I can’t help it. I love to look at it, enjoying it’s pure white pristine beauty. I love to eat it, (snow~cream that is), and after while, I might just go get my sled from the attic and even play in it! But I’m sure after what happened yesterday, I may have a few fellow co-workers who would like to pelt me with about a dozen snowballs right now if they heard me say this!

Snow on the roads in Southeast Tennessee can make a grown up quake and quiver when they think about possibly having to drive in it!

(Ok, these are my thoughts, and do not necessarily represent everyone in my hometown about driving in it.)

I was working myself into a bit of a panic yesterday. We were still at school and the snow was coming down, sticking and laying on the roads.

According to the area meteorologists, this wasn’t supposed to happen. And even though we only got about 1-2 inches, maybe a tad more, it stuck to the roadways and was not going anywhere! That makes for a scary situation in the south. In our small little town as of this morning more than 130 wrecks were reported for yesterday. This rare snowstorm for the south is one we will never forget.

Oh I know! Teachers love snow days. We really do, but not when we think we may be stuck at school! Or the dangers it can impose. We check our snack supply for the 100th time just to make sure we have some food if we have to spend the night! (Oh wait…that’s me who does that…don’t be judging! I’m picky about my snacks!)

We worry about our students getting home safely, and we worry about our families and loved ones who may be trying to get home, or get someone home.

(We ended up getting out early. So no more worrying about those snacks for me!)

I made it home safely. My son had to come and get me, and I ended up leaving my car at school. He has a 4-wheel drive, I have a “scared-wheel” drive.

I was thankful at the end of the day when everyone made it home safely, our children and our staff!

All I could think of was, “Be careful what you wish for.” I had wished for snow and it happened. I love snow, but not when it presents itself this way into our lives! That kind of love interest wears out fast!

We want or “wish” for things to happen in our lives, and really don’t think about what may or may not happen if we get what we asked or wish for.

It could be a great outcome, or a not so great outcome. Sometimes we don’t know what’s best for us. But there’s one who does! Our Papa God does! He loves us beyond measure, and He will always want what’s best for us.

Jesus wanted us to know something about his Father. “What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving.” Matthew 6:32 MSG

In my case yesterday, wanting the snow, (and it happening) ended up not such a great outcome. I’m not trying to make God out to sound like a “fairy-godmother” where we wish for something and it happens! Me wanting the snow to happen represents being preoccupied with “wanting.”

Something to think about for myself. My preoccupied thoughts with (wanting) getting may not be what God has in store for me! His giving is far better than I could ever dream or imagine. My getting what I want is not designed to replace what God desires to give me!

“And my God will supply all of your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 HCSB

“We’re depending on God; he’s everything we need. What’s more, our hearts brim with joy since we’ve taken for our own his holy name. Love us, God, with all you’ve got – that’s what we’re depending on.” Psalm 33:20-22 MSG

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

