My Very Own (UN) Word

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

20140311-152858.jpg

January is about over, and by now the choosing of  “one” word is underway for many people.  The concept; choose one word to focus on that will help determine the kind of person you want to be for the year 2014.

I had recently read about this and started thinking about choosing one for myself, but like eating “Lays” potato chips, I couldn’t choose just one!  If I were to choose one, (which would be two) I would choose faith and trust, they really do go hand in hand.

Then one day I happen to read Edie’s blog of lifeingraceblog.com.  She suggested an (UN) word.  What is an (UN) word you ask?  Edie, Darlene, Nester and Angela (bloggers) wanted to, “take down a few ugly words this year.”  Words they wanted rid of.

I really liked that concept too…but what was a gal to do?

My conversations with God have been about “fear” here lately.  Fearful about raising our special needs daughter, fearful of my health, fearful of the economy, fearful to go for dreams laid on my heart.  You name it, and  I’m sure fear is attached to it, just ask my husband!  I do need to have faith and trust in my Papa God, but I also need to be (UN) afraid!

     My (UN) word for 2014 ~ (UN) afraid.

Jesus saw their struggle.  The oars were out of control, and the wind was whipping around them.  The disciples were afraid.  “When they saw him (Jesus) walking on the sea, they thought he was a ghost and screamed, scared out of their wits. (not only were they afraid of their situation, add ghost to that and double the fear!)  Jesus was quick to comfort them:  Courage! It’s me. Don’t be afraid.”  As soon as he climbed into the boat, the wind died down. Mark 6:47-50 MSG

I know I need to let Jesus climb into the boat with me and the winds of fear will die down.

(UN) afraid ~ 2014

20140125-094126.jpg

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

