A Change of Strength

comments 2
Uncategorized

20140108-115026.jpg

🔶When God calls us to do something, you can rest assured that he will equip you to do it. You know, I’ve heard that statement many times, and I can tell you first hand by experience, that it’s true!
🔸No matter if it’s something he has asked you to do, or if you are in a situation, or about to face one, you can exchange his strength for yours! There is not a task, job or situation too big for our Papa God to handle!
🔸We look at things from our human perspective as ‘big’ or ‘small’. We tend to categorize this way. But to God there is no ‘big’ or ‘small’ from the heavenly perspective, it’s all the same.
🔸As our daughter Maria gets older, I am fearful that I won’t be able to take care of her. Having a child with special needs is not easy, I’ll just be honest with you. And at times it’s very challenging. As she gets older and certain situations arise, I start to get fearful and wonder, “How in the world am I going to help my (fast approaching young adult) daughter!” I am afraid! Then my Papa God who loves me, takes me right back to the verse he whispered in my ears years ago before we adopted her. “Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31 NIV
🔸I remember looking up the word ‘renew’ and one of the Hebrew words for renew was ‘change’ – ‘chalaph’. My Papa God whispered to me that he would change my strength for his! He also told me that he would never leave or forsake me on this journey with Maria! Each step with our daughter Maria, has already been walked by my Papa God! Yes, it has been tough at times, it’s not always been easy, and I’m sure that on this road ahead we will face many more challenges, but praise God he has been with us every step of the way, and will continue to! You see, He goes before me on every step of this journey! “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8 NIV
🔸No matter what He has asked us to do, or what we are going through, we have His strength and promise that He goes before us and that He will never leave or forsake us!

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

2 Comments

  1. Kimmy Jean McGaha says

    Beth E O as I read this beautiful encourage mint it reminds me of my dear daddy. I have had him on my mind so much lately. He always said you were doing such a wonderful thing by adopting Maria Dean. He was so proud of you for stepping out on that leap of faith and so am I. Keep up the great work. Love you. Kimmy Jean

Leave a Reply

